Marubbi’s Café began life in York Street in 1896 before relocating to Bank Street in 1936. This photo is of Umberto Marubbi and his wife, who are grandparents of the current owner Paul Marubbi. This café is as traditional a place as you are likely to find in Wrecsam, which is why our Explorers renamed the street Traditional Terrace.
The 1st of December saw us beginning in Café De Galles (French for The Welsh Café). This listed building has housed a number of businesses over the years before becoming a café in 1997. We can honestly say their hot chocolates and jacket potatoes are fantastic. Our Explorers decided to name this road Atmospheric Alley as we loved the bright and airy vibe of the café, the owner Julie was lovely, and we could hear the staff singing as we worked; all overlooked by the stunning St Giles’ Church. Continue reading “Atmospheric Alley”
The poems our Explorers are writing will be published in a small poetry pamphlet early in 2016. The incredibly talented Rhi Moxon created this wonderful artwork for us. Continue reading Explorers Artwork